Alberta was named for Queen Victoria's fourth daughter, Princess Louise Caroline Alberta. The Princess was the wife of the Marquess of Lorne, who was Governor General of Canada in 1882 when the District of Alberta was created as part of the Northwest Territories. In 1905, the name was retained when the District of Alberta was joined with parts of the districts of Athapaska, Assiniboia and Saskatchewan to create the present-day province of Alberta.

No found results